/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} 25PGA Snow Ride manufactures snowboard... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

Snow Ride manufactures snowboards. Its cost of making 1,900 bindings is as follows:

Direct materials \(17,590

Direct labor 3,200

Variable overhead 2,080

Fixed overhead 6,300

Total manufacturing costs for 1,900 bindings \)29,170

Suppose Livingston will sell bindings to Snow Ride for \(13 each. Snow Ride would pay \)3 per unit to transport the bindings to its manufacturing plant, where it would add its own logo at a cost of \(0.50 per binding.

Requirements

1. Snow Ride’s accountants predict that purchasing the bindings from Livingston will enable the company to avoid \)2,100 of fixed overhead. Prepare an analysis to show whether Snow Ride should make or buy the bindings.

2. The facilities freed by purchasing bindings from Livingston can be used to manufacture another product that will contribute $3,100 to profit. Total fixed costs will be the same as if Snow Ride had produced the bindings. Show which alternative makes the best use of Snow Ride’s facilities: (a) make bindings, (b) buy bindings and leave facilities idle, or (c) buy bindings and make another product.

Short Answer

Expert verified

The company should focus on making the bindings.

Step by step solution

01

Meaning of Accountant

An accountant refers to an individual appointed by an entity to maintain and record its financial transactions in the company's books. An accountant must be aware ofaccounting principles, concepts, and standards.

02

Preparation of analysis

Analysis

Particulars

Make ($)

Buy ($)

Difference ($)

Variable cost (Working notes)

22,870

31,350

(8,480)

Add: Fixed cost (Working notes)

6,300

4,200

2,100

Total cost of 1900 bindings

$29,170

$35,550

$(6,380)

Working Notes:

Computation of variable and fixed costs:

Particulars

Make ($)

Buy ($)

Variable cost

17590+3200+2080=22,870

1900*(13+3+0.5)=31,350

Fixed cost

6300

6300-2100=4200

Comment:

Based on the analysis above, it is advisable thatthe company should make the bindings.

03

Identification of best alternative

Particulars

Make

Leave facility idle

Make another product

Variable cost

22,870

31,350

31,350

Add: Fixed cost

6,300

4,200

4,200

Less: Profit from another product

(3,100)

Total cost of 1900 bindings

$29,170

$35,550

$32,450

Comment:

Based on the analysis above, the company should focus on making bindings because it costs less than other alternatives.

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

Brik, located in San Antonio, Texas, produces two lines of electric toothbrushes: deluxe and standard. Because Brik can sell all the toothbrushes it can produce, the owners are expanding the plant. They are deciding which product line to emphasize. To make this decision, they assemble the following data:

Per Unit

Deluxe Toothbrush Standard Toothbrush

Sales price \(88 \)54

Variable expense 22 18

Contribution margin \(66 \)36

Contribution margin ratio 75.0% 66.7%

After expansion, the factory will have a production capacity of 4,900 machine hours per month. The plant can manufacture 65 standard electric toothbrushes or 27 deluxe electric toothbrushes per machine hour.

Requirements

1. Identify the constraining factor for Brik.

2. Prepare an analysis to show which product line the company should emphasize.

Priscilla Smiley manages a fleet of 250 delivery trucks for Daniels Corporation. Smiley must decide whether the company should outsource the fleet management function. If she outsources to Fleet Management Services (FMS), FMS will be responsible for maintenance and scheduling activities. This alternative would require Smiley to lay off her five employees. However, her own job would be secure; she would be Daniels’s liaison with FMS. If she continues to manage the fleet, she will need fleet management software that costs \(9,500 per year to lease. FMS offers to manage this fleet for an annual fee of \)300,000. Smiley performed the following analysis:

Retain in-house Outsource to FMS Difference

Annual leasing fee for \(9,500 \)9,500

Software

Annual maintenance of

Trucks 147,000 147,000

Total annual salaries of

Five laid-off employees 185,000 185,000

Fleet management

Service’s annual fee \(300,000 (300,000)

Total differential cost of

Outsourcing \)341,500 \(300,000 \)41,500

Requirements

1. Which alternative will maximize Daniels’s short-term operating income?

2. What qualitative factors should Daniels consider before making a final decision?

Refer to Exercise E25-18. Cool Systems needs 79,000 optical switches. By outsourcing them, Cool Systems can use its idle facilities to manufacture another product that will contribute $225,000 to operating income.

Requirements

1. Identify the expected net costs that Cool Systems will incur to acquire 79,000 switches under three alternative plans: make the switches, buy the switches and leave facilities idle, buy the switches and use the idle facilities to make another product.

2. Which plan makes the best use of Cool System’s facilities? Support your answer.

When is nonfinancial information relevant?

What does the target full product cost include?

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.