/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} 26 PGB Using ROI and RI to evaluate inv... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91影视

91影视

Using ROI and RI to evaluate investment centers

Tiger Paints is a national paint manufacturer and retailer. The company is segmented into five divisions: Paint Stores (branded retail locations), Consumer (paint sold through home improvement stores), Automotive (sales to auto manufacturers), International, and Administration. The following is selected divisional information for its two largest divisions: Paint Stores and Consumer:

Net Sales Revenue Operating Income Average Total Assets

Paint Stores\( 4,000,000 \) 476,000 $ 1,420,000

Consumer 1,300,000 196,000 1,585,000

Management has specified a 19% target rate of return.

Requirements

1. Calculate each division鈥檚 ROI. Round all of your answers to four decimal places.

2. Calculate each division鈥檚 profit margin ratio. Interpret your results.

3. Calculate each division鈥檚 asset turnover ratio. Interpret your results.

4. Use the expanded ROI formula to confirm your results from Requirement 1. Interpret your results.

5. Calculate each division鈥檚 RI. Interpret your results, and offer a recommendation for any division with negative RI.

6. Describe some of the factors that management considers when setting its minimum target rate of return.

Short Answer

Expert verified

ROI

Paint Stores

33.5211%

Consumer

12.3659%

  1. Consumer division is earning 0.1507 i.e.,higher profit per net sales revenue than paint store division i.e., 0.119.

Profit margin ratio

Paint Stores

0.119

Consumer

0.1507

  1. Paint store division is generating 2.8169 i.e., more sales revenue per average total assets than consumer division i.e., 0.8201.

Asset turnover ratio

Paint Stores

2.8169

Consumer

0.8201

  1. Although consumer division is earning more profit compare to paint store division, the paint store division is generating more ROI than consumer division.

Expanded ROI

Paint Stores

33.5211%

Consumer

12.3659%

  1. Paint store division is earning more than the expected income i.e., $206,200.

RI

Paint Stores

$206,200

Consumer

($105,150)

  1. The management should consider the following factors for setting the minimum target rate of return-

Desired residual income

Operating income

Average Investment in division

Step by step solution

01

Computing ROI

Paint Stores

ROI=NetincomeAveragetotalasset100=$476,000$1,420,000100=33.5211%

Consumer

ROI=NetincomeAverageasset100=$196,000$1,585,000100=12.3659%

02

Computing profit margin ratio-

Paint Stores

Profitmarginratio=NetincomeNetsalesrevenue=$476,000$4,000.000=0.119

Consumer

Profitmarginratio=NetincomeNetsalesrevenue=$196,000$1,300.000=0.1507

03

Computing asset turnover ratio

Paint Stores

AssetTurnoverRatio=NetSalesAverageTotalAssets=$4,000,000$1,420,000=2.8169

Consumer

AssetTurnoverRatio=NetSalesAverageTotalAssets=$1,300,000$1,585,000=0.8201

04

Computing expanded ROI

Paint Stores

ROI=ProfitmarginratioAssetturnoverratio100=0.1192.8169100=33.5211%

Consumer

ROI=ProfitmarginratioAssetturnoverratio100=0.15070.8201100=12.3659%

05

Computing RI

Paint Stores

ResidualIncome=OperatingincomeMinimumrequiredrateofreturnAverageoperatingassets=$476,00019%$1,420,000=$476,000$269,800=$206,200

Consumer

ResidualIncome=OperatingincomeMinimumrequiredrateofreturnAverageoperatingassets=$196,00019%$1,585,000=$196,000$301,150=$105,150

06

The factors that management considers when setting its minimum target rate of return

While setting theminimum target rate of return the management should consider the following factors-

Operating income

Average Investment in division

Desired residual income

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91影视!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

Consider the following key performance indicators, and classify each indicator according to the balanced scorecard perspective it addresses. Choose from the financial perspective, customer perspective, internal business perspective, and the learning and growth perspective.

a. Number of customer complaints

b. Number of information system upgrades completed

c. Residual income

d. New product development time

e. Employee turnover rate

f. Percentage of products with online help manuals

g. Customer retention

h. Percentage of compensation based on performance

i. Percentage of orders filled each week

j. Gross margin growth

k. Number of new patents

l. Employee satisfaction ratings

m. Manufacturing cycle time (average length of production process)

n. Earnings growth

o. Average machine setup time

p. Number of new customers

q. Employee promotion rate

r. Cash flow from operations

s. Customer satisfaction ratings

t. Machine downtime u. Finished products per day per employee

v. Percentage of employees with access to upgraded system

w. Wait time per order prior to start of production

Explain the difference between a lag indicator and a lead indicator.

One subunit of Harris Sports Company had the following financial results last month:

Harris鈥擲ubunit X Actual Results Flexible Budget Flexible Budget Variance (F or U) % Variance (F or U)

Direct Materials \( 28,000 \) 25,900

Direct Labor 13,000 13,800

Indirect Labor 26,400 23,100

Utilities 12,300 11,300

Depreciation 25,000 25,000

Repairs and Maintenance 4,600 5,600

Total \( 109,300 \) 104,700

Requirements

1. Complete the performance evaluation report for this subunit. Enter the variance percent as a percentage of the budgeted amount rounded to two decimal places.

2. Based on the data presented, what type of responsibility center is this subunit?

3. Which items should be investigated if part of management鈥檚 decision criteria is to investigate all variances exceeding $2,500 or 10%?

4. Should only unfavorable variances be investigated? Explain.

The Harris Company is decentralized, and divisions are considered investment centers. Harris has one division that manufactures oak dining room chairs with upholstered seat cushions. The Chair Division cuts, assembles, and finishes the oak chairs and then purchases and attaches the seat cushions. The Chair Division currently purchases the cushions for \(22 from an outside vendor. The Cushion Division manufactures upholstered seat cushions that are sold to customers outside the company. The Chair Division currently sells 800 chairs per quarter, and the Cushion Division is operating at capacity, which is 800 cushions per quarter. The two divisions report the following information:

Chair Division Cushion Division

Sales Price per Chair \) 85 Sales Price per Cushion \( 32

Variable Cost (other than cushion) 42 Variable Cost per Cushion 13

Variable Cost (cushion) 22

Contribution Margin per Chair \) 21 Contribution Margin per Cushion $ 19

Requirements

1. Determine the total contribution margin for Harris Company for the quarter.

2. Assume the Chair Division purchases the 800 cushions needed from the Cushion Division at its current sales price. What is the total contribution margin for each division and the company?

3. Assume the Chair Division purchases the 800 cushions needed from the Cushion Division at its current variable cost. What is the total contribution margin for each division and the company?

4. Review your answers for Requirements 1, 2, and 3. What is the best option for Harris Company?

5. Assume the Cushion Division has capacity of 1,600 cushions per quarter and can continue to supply its outside customers with 800 cushions per quarter and also supply the Chair Division with 800 cushions per quarter. What transfer price should Harris Company set? Explain your reasoning. Using the transfer price you determined, calculate the total contribution margin for the quarter.

Well-designed performance evaluation systems accomplish many goals. Consider the following actions, and state which goal is being achieved by the action:

a. Comparing targets to actual results

b. Providing subunit managers with performance targets

c. Comparing actual results with industry standards

d. Providing bonuses to subunit managers who achieve performance targets

e. Aligning subunit performance targets with company strategy

f. Comparing actual results of competitors

g. Taking corrective actions

h. Using the adage 鈥測ou get what you measure鈥 when designing the performance evaluation system

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.