/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} 15BP_c Diagnostic Supplies has expected... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

Diagnostic Supplies has expected sales of 84,100 units per year, carrying costs of \(5 per unit, and an ordering cost of \)10 per order.

c. Assume an additional 80 units of inventory will be required as safety stock. What will the new average inventory be? What will the new total carrying cost be?

Short Answer

Expert verified

The average inventory will be 370 units and the carrying cost will be $1,850.

Step by step solution

01

Calculation of average inventory

The average inventory will be 370 units.

Averageinventory=EOQ2+Safetystock=5802+80=370units

02

Carrying cost of inventory

The total carrying cost is $1,850.

Carryingcost=Carryingcostperunit×Averageinventory=$5×370units=$1,850

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

Under what circumstances would it be advisable to borrow money to take a cash discount?

Antivirus Inc. expects its sales next year to be \(2,500,000. Inventory and accounts receivable will increase \)480,000 to accommodate this sales level. The company has a steady profit margin of 15 percent with a 35 percent dividend payout. How much external financing will the firm have to seek? Assume there is no increase in liabilities other than that which will occur with the external financing

Knight Roundtable Co. has annual credit sales of $1,080,000 and an average collection period of 32 days in 2008. Assume a 360-day year. What is the company’s average accounts receivable balance? Accounts receivable are equal to the average daily credit sales times the average collection period

Bambino Sporting Goods makes baseball gloves that are very popular in the spring and early summer season. Units sold are anticipated as follows:

March

3,250

April

7,250

May

11,500

June

9,500

Total units

31,500

If seasonal production is used, it is assumed that inventory will directly match sales for each month and there will be no inventory build-up. The production manager thinks the preceding assumption is too optimistic and decides to go with level production to avoid being out of merchandise. He will produce the 31,500 units over four months at a level of 7,875 per month.

a. What is the ending inventory at the end of each month? Compare the unit sales to the units produced and keep a running total.

b. If the inventory costs $12 per unit and will be financed at the bank at a cost of 12 percent, what is the monthly financing cost and the total for the four months? (Use 0.01 as the monthly rate.)

What does the term structure of interest rates indicate?

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.