/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} 9BP Vitale Hair Spray had sales of 1... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

Vitale Hair Spray had sales of 13,000 units in March. A 70 percent increase is expected in April. The company will maintain 30 percent of expected unit sales for April in ending inventory. Beginning inventory for April was 650 units. How many units should the company produce in April?

Short Answer

Expert verified

The number of units should be produced by the company for April is 28,080.

Step by step solution

01

Increment in sales unit

Incrementinsalesunit=SalesunitofMarch×Incrementpercentage=13,000×70%=9,100

02

Expected sales units of april

Expectedsalesunit=Salesunitofmarch+Increasedunit=13,000+9,100=22,100

03

Year ending inventory of april

Yearendinginventory=Expectedsalesunitsofapril×Percentageofendinginventory=22,100×30%=6,630

04

Number of units to be produced

Numberofunitsproduced=Salesunits+Endinginventory-Openingunits=22,100+6,630-650=28,080

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

Using the income statement for Times Mirror and Glass Co., compute the following ratios:

The total assets for this company equal \(80,000. Set up the equation for the Du Pont system of ratio analysis, and compute c, d, and e.

c. Profit margin.

Times mirror and glass company

Sales

\)126,000

Less: Cost of goods sold

93,000

Gross profit

\(33,000

Less: selling and administrative expenses

11,000

Lease Expenses

4,000

Operating profit*

\)18,000

Less: Interest expenses

3,000

Earning before taxes

\(15,000

Less: Taxes (30%)

4,500

Earning after taxes

\)10,500

*equal income before interest and taxes

In January 2007, the Status Quo Company was formed. Total assets were \(544,000, of which \)306,000 consisted of depreciable fixed assets. Status

Quo uses straight-line depreciation of \(30,600 per year, and in 2007 it estimated its fixed assets to have useful lives of 10 years. Aftertax income has been \)29,000 per year each of the last 10 years. Other assets have not changed since 2007.

a. Compute return on assets at year-end for 2007, 2009, 2012, 2014, and 2016.

(Use $29,000 in the numerator for each year.)

Jim Short’s Company makes clothing for schools. Sales in 20X1 were

\(4,820,000. Assets were as follows:

Cash

\)163,000

Accounts receivable

889,000

Inventory

411,000

New plant and equipment

520,000

Total assets

$1,983,000

a. Compute the following:

1. Accounts receivable turnover.

2. Inventory turnover.

3. Fixed asset turnover.

4. Total asset turnover.

Identify whether each of the following items increases or decreases cash flow:

Increase in accounts receivable

Decrease in prepaid expenses

Increase in notes payable

Increase in inventory

Depreciation expense

Dividend payment

Increase in investment

Increase in accrued expenses

Decrease in account payable

A firm has net income before interest and taxes of \(193,000 and interest expense of \)28,100.

b. If the firm’s lease payments are $48,500, what is the fixed charge coverage?

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.