/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} 9BP Boise Timber Co. computes its br... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

Boise Timber Co. computes its break-even point strictly on the basis of cash expenditures related to fixed costs. Its total fixed costs are \(6,500,000, but 10 percent of this value is represented by depreciation. Its contribution margin (price minus variable cost) for each unit is \)9. How many units does the firm need to sell to reach the cash break-even point?

Short Answer

Expert verified

The cash break even point of the company is 650,000 units.

Step by step solution

01

Depreciation

Depreciation=10%offixedcost=$6,500,000×10%=$650,000

02

Cash break even point

Cashbreakevenpoint=Fixedcost-DepreciationRevenueperunit-Variablecostperunit=$6,500,000-$650,000$9=650,000units

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

Database Systems is considering expansion into a new product line. Assets to support expansion will cost \(380,000. It is estimated that Database can generate\)1,410,000 in annual sales, with an 8 percent profit margin. What would net income and return on assets (investment) be for the year?

Quantum Technology had \(669,000 of retained earnings on December 31, 20X2. The company paid common dividends of \)35,500 in 20X2 and had retained earnings of $576,000 on December 31, 20X1. How much did Quantum Technology earn during 20X2, and what would earnings per share be if 47,400 shares of common stock were outstanding?

a. Swank Clothiers had sales of \(383,000 and cost of goods sold of \)260,000. What is the gross profit margin (ratio of gross profit to sales)?

b. If the average firm in the clothing industry had a gross profit of 25 percent,

how is the firm doing?

Perez Corporation has the following financial data for the years 20X1 and 20X2:

20X1

20X2

Sales

\(8,000,000

\)10,000,000

Cost of goods sold

6,000,000

9,000,000

Inventory

800,000

1,000,000

c. What conclusions can you draw from part a and part b?

Lemon Auto Wholesalers had sales of \(1,000,000 last year, and cost of goods sold represented 78 percent of sales. Selling and administrative expenses were 12 percent of sales. Depreciation expense was \)11,000 and interest expense for the year was \(8,000. The firm’s tax rate is 30 percent.

a. Compute earnings after taxes.

b. Assume the firm hires Ms. Carr, an efficiency expert, as a consultant. She suggests that by increasing selling and administrative expenses to 14 percent of sales, sales can be increased to \)1,050,900. The extra sales effort will also reduce cost of goods sold to 74 percent of sales. (There will be a larger markup in prices as a result of more aggressive selling.) Depreciation expense will remain at \(11,000. However, more automobiles will have to be carried in inventory to satisfy customers, and interest expense will go up to \)15,800. The firm’s tax rate will remain at 30 percent. Compute revised earnings after taxes based on Ms. Carr’s suggestions for Lemon Auto Wholesalers. Will her ideas increase or decrease profitability?

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.