/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} 35BP The following information is fro... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

The following information is from Harrelson Inc.’s financial statements. Sales (all credit) were $28.50 million for last year.

Sales to total assets

1.90 times

Total debts to total assets

35%

Current ratio

2.50 times

Inventory turnover

10.00 times

Average collection period

20 days

Fixed assets turnover

5.00 times

Fill in the balance sheet:

Cash

Current debts

Account receivable

Long term debts

Inventory

Total debts

Total current assets

Equity

Fixed assets

Total assets

Total debts and equity

Short Answer

Expert verified

Cash

$4,888,356

Current debts

$3,720,000

Account receivable

$1,561,644

Long term debts

$1,530,000

Inventory

$2,850,000

Total debts

$5,250,000

Total current assets

$9,300,000

Equity

$9,750,000

Fixed assets

$5,700,000

Total assets

$15,000,000

Total debts and equity

$15,000,000

Step by step solution

01

Total asset

Totalassets=SalesSalestototalassets=$28,500,0001.90=$15,000,000

02

Total debts

Totaldebts=Totalassets×Totaldebtstoassets=$15,000,000×35%=$5,250,000

03

Fixed assets

Fixedassets=SalesFixedassetturnover=$28,500,0005=$5,700,000

04

Current assets

Currentassets=Totalassets-Fixedassets=$15,000,000-$5,700,000=$9,300,000

05

Current debts

Currentdebts=CurrentassetsCurrentratio=$9,300,0002.50=$3,720,000

06

Long term debts

Longtermdebts=Totaldebts-Currentdebts=$5,250,000-$3,720,000=$1,530,000

07

Equity

Equity=Totaldebtsandequity-Totaldebts=$15,000,000-$5,250,000=$9,750,000

08

Inventory

Inventory=SalesInventoryturnover=$28,500,00010=$2,850,000

09

Account receivables turnover ratio

Averagereceivableturnoverratio=365Averagecollectionperiod=36520=18.25

10

Account receivable

Accountsreceivable=NetcreditsalesAccountsreceivableturnoverratio=$28,500,00018.25=$1,561,644

11

Cash

Cash=Currentassets-Inventory-Accountsreceivable=$9,300,000-$2,850,000-$1,561,644=$4,888,356

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

a. Swank Clothiers had sales of \(383,000 and cost of goods sold of \)260,000. What is the gross profit margin (ratio of gross profit to sales)?

b. If the average firm in the clothing industry had a gross profit of 25 percent,

how is the firm doing?

Arrange the following income statement items so they are in the proper order of an income statement:

Taxes

Earning per share

Share Outstanding

Earning before taxes

Interest Expense

Cost of goods sold

Depreciation Expense

Earning after taxes

Preferred Stcok dividends

Earning available to common stockholders

Sales

Selling and administrative expense

Gross profit

Dr. Zhivàgo Diagnostics Corp.’s income statement for 20X1 is as follows:

Sales\( 2790000
Cost of goods sold1790000
Gross Profits\)1000000
Selling and administrative expenses302000
Operating profits\(698000
Interest Expense54800
Income before taxes\)643200
Taxes30%192960
Income after-tax$ 450240

Compute the profit margin for 20X1.

For December 31, 20X1, the balance sheet of Baxter Corporation was as follows:

Current assets

Liabilities

Cash

\(15,000

Accounts payable

\)17,000

Accounts receivable

20,000

Notes payable

25,000

Inventory

30,000

Bonds payable

55,000

Prepaid expenses

12,500

Fixed assets

Stockholder’s equity

Plant and equipment (gross)

Less: accumulated depreciation

\(255,000

51,000

Preferred stock

\)25,000

Net plant and equipment

\(204,000

Common stock

60,000

Paid in capital

30,000

Retained earnings

69,500

Total assets

\)281,500

Total liabilities and stockholder’s equity

\(281,500

Sales for 20X2 were \)245,000, and the cost of goods sold was 60 percent of sales. Selling and administrative expense was \(24,500. Depreciation expense was 8 percent of plant and equipment (gross) at the beginning of the year. Interest expense for the notes payable was 10 percent, while the interest rate on the bonds payable was 12 percent. This interest expense is based on December 31, 20X1 balances. The tax rate averaged 20 percent.

\)2,500 in preferred stock dividends were paid, and \(5,500 in dividends were paid to common stockholders. There were 10,000 shares of common stock outstanding.

During 20X2, the cash balance and prepaid expenses balances were

unchanged. Accounts receivable and inventory increased by 10 percent. A new machine was purchased on December 31, 20X2, at a cost of \)40,000. Accounts payable increased by 20 percent. Notes payable increased by \(6,500 and bonds payable decreased by \)12,500, both at the end of the year. The preferred stock, common stock, and paid-in capital in excess of par accounts did not change.

b. Prepare a statement of retained earnings for 20X2.

Easter Egg and Poultry Company has \(2,000,000 in assets and \)1,400,000 of debt. It reports net income of $200,000.

c. If the firm has an asset turnover ratio of 2.5 times, what is the profit margin

(return on sales)?

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.