/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} 29BP_b Conn Man’s Shops, a national c... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

Conn Man’s Shops, a national clothing chain, had sales of \(350 million last year. The business has a steady net profit margin of 9 percent and a dividend payout ratio of 25 percent. The balance sheet for the end of last year is shown next. The firm’s marketing staff has told the president that in the coming year

there will be a large increase in the demand for overcoats and wool slacks. A

sales increase of 20 percent is forecast for the company.

BALANCE SHEET

End of year (in \) million)

Assets

Liabilities and Stockholder’s equity

Cash

\(25

Accounts payable

\)64

Accounts receivable

40

Accrued expenses

31

Inventory

82

Other payables

45

Plant and equipment

133

Common stock

50

Retained earnings

90

Total assets

\(280

Total liabilities and stockholder’s equity

\)280

All balance sheet items are expected to maintain the same percent-of-sales relationships as last year,* except for common stock and retained earnings. No change is scheduled in the number of common stock shares outstanding, and retained earnings will change as dictated by the profits and dividend policy of the firm. (Remember the net profit margin is 9 percent.)

b. What would be the need for external financing if the net profit margin went up to 10.5 percent and the dividend payout ratio was increased to 60 percent? Explain.

Short Answer

Expert verified

The company requires external funds of $10.36 million.

Step by step solution

01

Change in sales

Changeinsales=Existingsales×Growthratio=$350million×20%=$70million

02

Assets to sales ratio

Assetstosalesratio=TotalassetsSales=$280million$350million=0.80

03

Liabilities to sales ratio

Liabilitiestosalesratio=LiabilitiesSales=$64+$31+$45million$350million=0.40

04

New sales level

Newsaleslevel=Existingsales+Increaseinsales=$350million+$70million=$420million

05

Required new funds

Requirednewfunds=Assetstosalesratio×Changeinsales-Liabilitiestosalesratio×Changeinsales-Profitmargin×Newsaleslevel1-Dividendpayoutratio=0.80×$70million-0.40×$70million-0.105×$420million1-0.60=$56million-$28million-$17.64million=$10.36million

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

The balance sheet for Stud Clothiers is shown below. Sales for the year were \(2,400,000, with 90 percent of sales sold on credit.

Stud Clothier

Balance sheet 20X1

Assets

Liabilities and Equity

Cash

\)60,000

Account payable

\(220,000

Account receivable

240,000

Accrued taxes

30,000

Inventory

350,000

Bonds payable (long term)

150,000

Plant and equipment

410,000

Common stock

80,000

Paid in capital

200,000

Retained earnings

380,000

Total assets

\)1,060,000

Total LIbilities and Equity

$1,060,000

Compute the following:

b. Quick ratio.

Indicate if there is an improvement or decline in total asset turnover, and based on the other ratios, indicate why this development has taken place.

Lemon Auto Wholesalers had sales of \(1,000,000 last year, and cost of goods sold represented 78 percent of sales. Selling and administrative expenses were 12 percent of sales. Depreciation expense was \)11,000 and interest expense for the year was \(8,000. The firm’s tax rate is 30 percent.

a. Compute earnings after taxes.

b. Assume the firm hires Ms. Carr, an efficiency expert, as a consultant. She suggests that by increasing selling and administrative expenses to 14 percent of sales, sales can be increased to \)1,050,900. The extra sales effort will also reduce cost of goods sold to 74 percent of sales. (There will be a larger markup in prices as a result of more aggressive selling.) Depreciation expense will remain at \(11,000. However, more automobiles will have to be carried in inventory to satisfy customers, and interest expense will go up to \)15,800. The firm’s tax rate will remain at 30 percent. Compute revised earnings after taxes based on Ms. Carr’s suggestions for Lemon Auto Wholesalers. Will her ideas increase or decrease profitability?

The balance sheet for Stud Clothiers is shown below. Sales for the year were \(2,400,000, with 90 percent of sales sold on credit.

Stud Clothier

Balance sheet 20X1

Assets

Liabilities and Equity

Cash

\)60,000

Account payable

\(220,000

Account receivable

240,000

Accrued taxes

30,000

Inventory

350,000

Bonds payable (long term)

150,000

Plant and equipment

410,000

Common stock

80,000

Paid in capital

200,000

Retained earnings

380,000

Total assets

\)1,060,000

Total LIbilities and Equity

$1,060,000

Compute the following:

a. Current ratio

Comment on why inflation may restrict the usefulness of the balance sheet as normally presented.

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.