/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} 15BP a Using the Du Pont method, evalua... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

Using the Du Pont method, evaluate the effects of the following relationships for the Butters Corporation:

a. Butters Corporation has a profit margin of 7 percent and its return on assets

(investment) is 25.2 percent. What is its assets turnover?

Short Answer

Expert verified

Assets turnover: 3.6%

Step by step solution

01

Asset turnover ratio

The asset turnover ratio is computed to measure the efficiency of the organization’s assets in generating the income for the company.

02

Calculating the asset turnover ratio

Assetturnoverratio=ReturnonassetProfitMargin=25.20%7%=3.6%

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

In 20X2, sales increased to \(5,740,000 and the assets for that year were as follows:

Cash

\)163,000

Accounts receivable

924,000

Inventory

1,063,000

New plant and equipment

520,000

Total assets

$2,670,000

Once again compute the four ratios

b. Compute the following:

1. Accounts receivable turnover.

2. Inventory turnover.

3. Fixed asset turnover.

4. Total asset turnover.

For December 31, 20X1, the balance sheet of Baxter Corporation was as follows:

Current assets

Liabilities

Cash

\(15,000

Accounts payable

\)17,000

Accounts receivable

20,000

Notes payable

25,000

Inventory

30,000

Bonds payable

55,000

Prepaid expenses

12,500

Fixed assets

Stockholder’s equity

Plant and equipment (gross)

Less: accumulated depreciation

\(255,000

51,000

Preferred stock

\)25,000

Net plant and equipment

\(204,000

Common stock

60,000

Paid in capital

30,000

Retained earnings

69,500

Total assets

\)281,500

Total liabilities and stockholder’s equity

\(281,500

Sales for 20X2 were \)245,000, and the cost of goods sold was 60 percent of sales. Selling and administrative expense was \(24,500. Depreciation expense was 8 percent of plant and equipment (gross) at the beginning of the year. Interest expense for the notes payable was 10 percent, while the interest rate on the bonds payable was 12 percent. This interest expense is based on December 31, 20X1 balances. The tax rate averaged 20 percent.

\)2,500 in preferred stock dividends were paid, and \(5,500 in dividends were paid to common stockholders. There were 10,000 shares of common stock outstanding.

During 20X2, the cash balance and prepaid expenses balances were

unchanged. Accounts receivable and inventory increased by 10 percent. A new machine was purchased on December 31, 20X2, at a cost of \)40,000. Accounts payable increased by 20 percent. Notes payable increased by \(6,500 and bonds payable decreased by \)12,500, both at the end of the year. The preferred stock, common stock, and paid-in capital in excess of par accounts did not change.

b. Prepare a statement of retained earnings for 20X2.

Prepare an income statement for Franklin Kite Co. Take your calculations all the way to computing earnings per share.

Sales

$900,000

Shares outstanding

50,000

Cost of goods sold

400,000

Interest expenses

40,000

Selling and administration expenses

60,000

Depreciation expenses

20,000

Preferred stock dividend

80,000

Taxes

50,000

a. Swank Clothiers had sales of \(383,000 and cost of goods sold of \)260,000. What is the gross profit margin (ratio of gross profit to sales)?

b. If the average firm in the clothing industry had a gross profit of 25 percent,

how is the firm doing?

What is the difference between accumulated depreciation and depreciation expense? How are they related?

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.