/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} 13BP_a United Snack Company sells 50-po... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

United Snack Company sells 50-pound bags of peanuts to university dormitories for \(20 a bag. The fixed costs of this operation are \)176,250, while the variable costs of peanuts are $0.15 per pound.

a. What is the break-even point in bags?

Short Answer

Expert verified

Break-even point in bags is 14,100 units.

Step by step solution

01

Variable cost per bag

Variablecost=Variablecostperpound×Totalpoundinbag=$0.15×50=$7.50

02

Break even point in bags

Breakevenpoint=FixedcostRevenueperunit-Variablecostperunit=$176,250$20-$7.50=14,100

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

Easter Egg and Poultry Company has \(2,000,000 in assets and \)1,400,000 of debt. It reports net income of $200,000.

c. If the firm has an asset turnover ratio of 2.5 times, what is the profit margin

(return on sales)?

A firm has sales of \(3 million, and 10 percent of the sales are for cash. The year-end accounts receivable balance is \)285,000. What is the average collection period? (Use a 360-day year.)

Quantum Technology had \(669,000 of retained earnings on December 31, 20X2. The company paid common dividends of \)35,500 in 20X2 and had retained earnings of $576,000 on December 31, 20X1. How much did Quantum Technology earn during 20X2, and what would earnings per share be if 47,400 shares of common stock were outstanding?

Billy’s Crystal Stores Inc. has assets of $5,960,000 and turns over its assets 1.9 times per year. Return on assets is 8 percent. What is the firm’s profit margin (return on sales)?

Lemon Auto Wholesalers had sales of \(1,000,000 last year, and cost of goods sold represented 78 percent of sales. Selling and administrative expenses were 12 percent of sales. Depreciation expense was \)11,000 and interest expense for the year was \(8,000. The firm’s tax rate is 30 percent.

a. Compute earnings after taxes.

b. Assume the firm hires Ms. Carr, an efficiency expert, as a consultant. She suggests that by increasing selling and administrative expenses to 14 percent of sales, sales can be increased to \)1,050,900. The extra sales effort will also reduce cost of goods sold to 74 percent of sales. (There will be a larger markup in prices as a result of more aggressive selling.) Depreciation expense will remain at \(11,000. However, more automobiles will have to be carried in inventory to satisfy customers, and interest expense will go up to \)15,800. The firm’s tax rate will remain at 30 percent. Compute revised earnings after taxes based on Ms. Carr’s suggestions for Lemon Auto Wholesalers. Will her ideas increase or decrease profitability?

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.