/*! This file is auto-generated */ .wp-block-button__link{color:#fff;background-color:#32373c;border-radius:9999px;box-shadow:none;text-decoration:none;padding:calc(.667em + 2px) calc(1.333em + 2px);font-size:1.125em}.wp-block-file__button{background:#32373c;color:#fff;text-decoration:none} 12BP_a Healthy Foods Inc. sells 50-poun... [FREE SOLUTION] | 91Ó°ÊÓ

91Ó°ÊÓ

Healthy Foods Inc. sells 50-pound bags of grapes to the military for \(10 a bag. The fixed costs of this operation are \)80,000, while the variable costs of grapes are $0.10 per pound.

a. What is the break-even point in bags?

Short Answer

Expert verified

The Break-even point in bags is 16,000 units.

Step by step solution

01

Variable cost per bag

Variablecost=Variablecostperpound×Totalpoundinbag=$0.10×50=$5

02

Break even point in bags

Breakevenpoint=FixedcostRevenueperunit-Variablecostperunit=$80,000$10-$5=16,000units

Unlock Step-by-Step Solutions & Ace Your Exams!

  • Full Textbook Solutions

    Get detailed explanations and key concepts

  • Unlimited Al creation

    Al flashcards, explanations, exams and more...

  • Ads-free access

    To over 500 millions flashcards

  • Money-back guarantee

    We refund you if you fail your exam.

Over 30 million students worldwide already upgrade their learning with 91Ó°ÊÓ!

One App. One Place for Learning.

All the tools & learning materials you need for study success - in one app.

Get started for free

Most popular questions from this chapter

A-Rod Fishing Supplies had sales of \(2,500,000 and cost of goods sold of \)1,710,000. Selling and administrative expenses represented 10 percent of sales. Depreciation was 6 percent of the total assets of $4,680,000. What was the firm’s operating profit?

Given the following information, prepare an income statement for the Dental Drilling Company.

Selling and administrative expenses

$112,000

Depreciation expenses

73,000

Sales

489,000

Interest expenses

45,000

Cost of goods sold

156,000

Taxes

47,000

Inflation can have significant effects on income statements and balance sheets, and therefore on the calculation of ratios. Discuss the possible impact of inflation on the following ratios, and explain the direction of the impact based on your assumptions. (LO3-5)

c. Fixed asset turnover

Sosa Diet Supplements had earnings after taxes of $800,000 in 20X1 with 200,000 shares of stock outstanding. On January 1, 20X2, the firm issued 50,000 new shares. Because of the proceeds from these new shares and other operating improvements, earnings after taxes increased by 30 percent.

a. Compute earnings per share for the year 20X1.

b. Compute earnings per share for the year 20X2.

Arrange the following income statement items so they are in the proper order of an income statement:

Taxes

Earning per share

Share Outstanding

Earning before taxes

Interest Expense

Cost of goods sold

Depreciation Expense

Earning after taxes

Preferred Stcok dividends

Earning available to common stockholders

Sales

Selling and administrative expense

Gross profit

See all solutions

Recommended explanations on Business Studies Textbooks

View all explanations

What do you think about this solution?

We value your feedback to improve our textbook solutions.

Study anywhere. Anytime. Across all devices.